Vegetable Tempura

This time I decided to try my hand at making vegetable tempura. I kind of cheated with this one, sorry! I bought a package batter mix. I bought this a few weeks before I planned to make it, so at the time I wasn’t sure what making tempura would entail. I saw the packet, assumed it was something special, and bought it to use at a later day. The packet is actually just the dry mix of batter (i.e. flour, cornstarch, baking soda, etc.) and then you add water, whisk until the lumps are gone and you’re ready to start cooking!

If you want a batter recipe, check this one out here. This article also stresses that you need to make sure your ingredients are cool to cold so it doesn’t mess up the temperature from your oil while cooking. If something is warm then it won’t cook evenly. I found a super cool video (complete with music!). This recipe is pretty simple, but I always like watching videos anyways. They also have some neat features that I wish I had thought of. They film from right above the cook’s hands and use a speed up function. I recently discovered how to use that, so you’ll notice I try it out!

I used a few veggies that I had on hand, but you can really use whatever you like. I cut up some broccoli, zucchini and a sweet potato. These are usually what I have seen offered in restaurants, in addition to onion (think onion rings), mushrooms, shrimp and crab.

So what I did was use a small deep-fryer, but you can also use a wok or pan with oil. Just make sure to set the cooked food on some napkins to absorb the oil! I cut up my veggies, make the batter, then popped them in the fryer for a minute.

IMG_3327 IMG_3328 IMG_3332

Now check out my video, and then make your own tempura!

Now I’m off to spoil some friends with some hot and fresh tempura!

IMG_3333

This entry was posted in ECMP 355: Computers in Education, Online Learning, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

