Philosophy of Teaching Statement

My philosophy of teaching is aimed towards the benefits of the student, and the belief that the objective of education should be to inspire searching for answers, as this is how we develop our communities and society. The following statement is based on themes that emerge in my teaching identity.

I want to foster thinking in logical ways, so that students can form opinions. Analytical thinking can be applied in other situations to create learning in everyday life, continue learning outside of the classroom, and use learning as a lifelong developmental process. I believe that my classroom should be a safe place, free of discrimination, so that students are able to contribute to the class and develop their ideas. If a student does not feel comfortable in asking for assistance, they cannot reach their full potential as a learner, and as such, students should be made to feel knowledgeable and successful. Another important element of how I view student learning is through inspiring coherent and effective written work and discussions, especially in building rational arguments, as I believe these are pertinent to everyday life beyond English and Social Studies classes.

Teaching is a moral act because of our code of ethics, and it presumes what would be valuable for students to learn. When I am a teacher, I want to partake in students’ academic development in order to change the society. Teachers should be allies for students, and speak for those who fear speaking for themselves. My task is to facilitate their learning process, and this includes areas that are not academic. I believe teachers can encourage all students to succeed and enjoy learning, even if the initial attitudes of students do not reflect this idea.

It is important to me to teach with an inclusive approach, as I believe that all students should be able to have their needs met within the classroom. This theme of inclusiveness will be integrated into my lessons by embracing social issues regarding race, gender, ability, and class. Today, we as teachers must consider differences in our classrooms because of the numerous forms of diversity that we encounter in daily life.

I will strive to have my lessons reflect equality issues and acknowledge diversity. In order to do this I will incorporate several methods. Foremost, I will create a positive atmosphere so that all students can contribute to the class. When mistakes are made, I want to discuss their individual views and not have students feel embarrassed or insecure.

Other methods include involving the students by having them accept responsibility for the conditions of classroom environment. I will work towards engaging students in learning by showing them that they are successful learners. This can be done through activities in a number of approaches, such as participating in discussions and individual or group work.

I will also incorporate technology in my lessons and use the Internet as an educational research tool to enhance learning. I will use essay writing as a tool for students to work on developing critical thinking, analyzing and arguing ideas. The class discussions will also focus on this in oral instead of written form. The way that parents emphasize the importance of schooling can have a huge influence on their child’s enthusiasm, and therefore parental involvement is another area with which I want to enhance and create a solid communication.

This entry was posted in ePortfolio, Philosophy of Education, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

