Sweet and Sour Chicken

I won’t lie about this one. This dish disappointed me. It was good but not how I expected it to be. I was imagining a sweet and sour sauce that was just like from a bottle or restaurant. It was more sweet than sour. There was no kick. If I make this dish again, I will for sure be trying a different concoction for sauce to make it pack a punch.

The first site I checked out seems pretty good. It requires a lot more preparation time. First the chicken is fried to become crispy on the outside and then baked in the oven to become tender. I believe that the sauce would allow the flavours to soak into the chicken and become more pronounced. It also uses apple cider vinegar instead of regular vinegar, which is what I used. I have never tried apple cider vinegar (that I know of – so maybe in recipes). Perhaps this would make the sauce more tart for that sour flavour that mine was missing. My sauce was more like sweet sauce. I’m going to keep looking for something that has a little bit of zip in it.

I was looking for something like what I put below here.

Photo Credit: thienzieyung via Compfight cc

I found another great step-by-step website. It includes simple text and detailed pictures to aid different learning styles. It also includes the recipe this person used too.

These are the ingredients that I used (so please give me some advice for adding the sour flavour!):

  • 1 pound of chicken breast (about 2-3 breasts) cut into small cubes
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1/4 tsp each of salt and pepper
  • 1/3 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup of chicken broth
  • 3 tbsp ketchup
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tbsp vinegar
  • 1 tbsp soya sauce
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 onion, cut into sections
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 cup drained pineapple or fresh pineapple (I didn’t actually use this due to a food allergy)

 

IMG_3018

This is what the chicken looked like when it was coated and cooking.


IMG_3019

 

Here is my not-so-sour sweet and sour sauce. Please comment if you know what I can do to make the sauce more sour tasting than sweet! It kind of looks like tomato soup here, and I noticed that some of the online recipes call for red food dye to give it that bright red colour….but I didn’t want to add the food colouring because I hear it’s sort of bad for you.


 

IMG_3020

 

The recipe only called for an onion and green pepper for veggies. I like to have more veggies in my meal, so I had a side salad. I think that next time I would be a little more “untraditional” and use the recipe more as a guideline, and just add more veggies to this dish.


 

IMG_3022

 

See what I mean? Not very many veggies here. You can also see that my dish does not have the same appearance in sauce as when you get sweet and sour chicken at a restaurant. It looks thicker than I prefer, so next time I will thin it out by adding less cornstarch.


Dinner is served! Sweet and sour chicken with brown rice.

IMG_3021

Don’t forget to check out my video!

This entry was posted in ECMP 355: Computers in Education, Online Learning and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

