Introduction to Me!

Hey all! Check out this video, or read below to find out more about me!

My name is Nicki Bannerman. I am in my fourth year of university. I am currently working towards getting my Bachelor’s of Education for the Secondary program, with a major in English and a minor in Social Studies, while at the same time earning an Arts degree in English.

I would like to incorporate technology into my classroom. The problem will be finding a balance of using technology and “old school” methods of learning, like reading an actual book or writing on actual paper. As an English teacher, I strongly believe that using these methods can strengthen a students’ abilities in these areas. That is not to say that I will not use online resources. I plan on setting up an Edmodo account for my courses. This way I can keep in touch with the students, and also model what a healthy social media site looks like. I don’t really know how to work very many pieces of technology in a way that will be useful and relevant to my classroom learning. I also am not sure how I will handle the ever persistent cell phone problem. What happens when some kids are using it appropriately and others are abusing this privilege?

*Disclaimer: This is my first attempt at using iMovie and Youtube to link my own videos here, so please bear with me during my learning process of these applications. Thank you!

This entry was posted in ECMP 355: Computers in Education, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

